Next Day

this morning, I got up very early. It was a beautiful day with a great sunrise. I walked out the door into the cool morning and watched the sun rising. Being that close to a disaster, with still the fear and shock of the people in the air, kept me thinking of how good and well I am: ‘In about an hour, I will be flying out of this airport, leaving the destruction behind, knowing that I have a place I can go to, that is still in good shape.’

After this quiet time, I went back into the building, to plan our next route to the final destination: Kyle-Oakley (KCEY) Airport. 140 miles and approximately 1,5 hours and we will be there.
The airport-manager stepped into the building, and told me, he wants to make some coffee and whenever the other pilot is ready, we can have some at his trailer-home, before we will take off. Few minutes later, I checked on Robbie and he just got out of the shower.

To shorten the story. After drinking coffee with our friend at the airport, we started our helicopter and headed North-West, towards Kyle-Oakley in Kentucky.

After approximate a 2 hour flight, we came into CEY and landed right next to the trailer, were Brian and Bo were waiting on us, to put the spay equipments on the helicopter.

My work was done and I needed to find a flight back to Belle Glade, to go home to my beloved one, waiting for me to come back. So, I drove to the hotel, booked a flight, talked to Lisa and told her, she can pick me up at Ft. Lauderdale on Saturday afternoon.

One more night and I’ll be home 😉

Leave a comment